How to defeat Tories

My middle son cried at lunchtime on Friday, when they’d come home from school and I explained what the election result was, bleary-eyed from staying up til 4am rejoicing and wondering. How Scotland had voted SNP for 56 out of 59 possible MPs, and how crazy and unprecedented that was. ‘So Nicola Sturgeon won? We don’t have David Cameron anymore?’ he asked. And I had to try to explain that no, we still have David Cameron, and actually it was the Tories that had won, despite how Scotland voted. And he couldn’t get his head round that at all. He said ‘but what about the NHS?’ And then he burst into tears, saying ‘but I don’t understand. Why would anyone vote for that? They think it’s all about money, but money isn’t important. People’s lives are important’.

And I couldn’t explain why people voted for that, because I don’t really understand it myself. I didn’t want to tell him that some people in England had listened to what the media was shouting at them, had been afraid of what the Scots having a bigger say at Westminster might mean and had voted Tory instead of Labour to try and stop that happening, because I don’t want him to resent English people. His grandpa on one side and his late grandma on the other are English. Some of his schoolfriends are English. I didn’t want to tell him that some people are just selfish and are more concerned with the money in their own pocket than whether someone else more vulnerable might be struggling, because that’s a shite state of affairs, even though it’s true, and even though he’s basically formed that opinion by himself already at the age of nine. Some things are hard to tell your children.

So instead I told him not to despair, because we still have each other even if we have a Tory government, and we’ll look after each other and be kind and good, and there are other good people around who feel the same, and we will all find little ways to make life better for each other. That’s how you beat Tories. Do something every day to make a Tory frown. Share your snack if someone’s mum’s forgotten to give them one. Play with someone who’s looking a bit lonely in the playground. Bring your workmates communal biscuits. Let your little brother have the computer even though it’s technically your turn, once in a while. Be nice to people who have less than you. Be kind. Be a stand-up guy. If you see someone being shoved around who looks like they need help, step in, don’t walk past. Give a beggar a quid.

Screw money, it’s not important. People’s lives are important.

About furcoatnaenicks

Rants. Sporadically.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to defeat Tories

  1. Steve says:

    As an ex labour voter from a union leader Marxist family background who now votes Tory, maybe I can help. All those things you suggest I still do, being nice is nice to do. But I have learned how economics work in a business over the years and recognise the need to support businesses before we demand they pay higher taxes or employ people at high salaries. All our public services need this money and our population need these jobs, so it makes sense to help business and business owners achieve this. I do not feel labour understand this, but conservatives do. That’s it.. In other respects I am still left leaning. Tory lite maybe? Yes I am certain that there are nasty people who are Tory.. No doubts there. But the fundamental break of the two main parties relate to how they want to make the UK a wonderful country for everyone Rich and Poor alike. I could not support them if this were not the case. My family are still heavily involved in left wing politics and reprisent labour in several aspects but understand my views, although Christmas can be a vocal affair.

  2. Head in Book says:

    Being a few miles south of you, the context was slightly different, but I also had a tearful 9 year old on Friday morning. I wondered if I’d been wrong being so open with him about politics and why I believe that our (sadly, still) current government were such a threat to things even he can understand are important. But I know I wasn’t.
    Democracy is such an inconceivably weighty thing, and yet such a will-o-the-wisp of hope and fear, identity and aspiration. I can’t make sense of what’s going on for him. Still, decency, and understanding the value of what can be accounted worthless, and going even a tiny step out of your way to make someone else’s life better are things I can, and will, do every bloody day as a rejection of the backdrop to their lives.

Leave a Reply

